Earliest Memory??

Jan 3rd-bloganuary prompt

 My earliest memory makes me laugh so hard and then want to break down in tears, because all I have left of my momma is memories. I was about 2 years old, and momma was washing sissy’s hair. I called her sissy because that’s all I could say back at that time. And let me tell you’ll sissy is literally my person;the sister bond is like no other!!! Anyway, so sissy didn’t like getting her wash under the water, she was afraid to have it on her face. Her, momma and Uncle P are in the kitchen and sissy is laying on the counter and my uncle is trying to help hold her down. At the time she is about 4, and she’s thrashing and trying to fight her way off the counter.  She starts screaming to me “Call the cops sissy, call the cops”. I am in a panic and crying with her asking her what’s the number because I have no idea. She tells me to just push the circle(zero) on the phone and tell them mommy is killing me.  I do just I am told, and I tell the lady on the other to send the cops because mommy is killing sissy. This poor operator can barely understand me for 1. Like I said I am two and crying and 2. My sister is literally screaming as if someone is murdering her in the background. The police get there with guns drawn, I will never forget these men rushing into the house and one scooping me and the rest screaming at my mom and uncle to get away from sissy and get on the ground. Now I am not sure why neither my mom nor uncle ever checked to see if I was really talking to someone. But I do remember my mom was beyond livid with us. She retold that story for years and maybe that’s why I held on to all this years later. 

  She’s been gone almost 14 years and everyday it feels like yesterday. Cherish these moments and love your people while they are.

#bloganuary

Copyright ©️2023

2 responses to “Earliest Memory??”

  1. literallylaurie Avatar

    Love this story. You’re memories go way back! Happy New Year to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It’s crazy I can remember certain events from when I was little but not others. Happy New Year love! 💖

      Like

Leave a comment